Obtaining a Moped Permit
You are required to obtain a moped permit if you do NOT possess a valid driver’s license and want to operate a moped or motor scooter on public roads. If your driving privilege has been suspended, revoked, refused or cancelled, you are not eligible for a moped permit. The minimum age to apply for and obtain a moped operator's permit is 16 years of age.
What is the procedure for obtaining a moped permit?
Gather the documents that you will need to present to the MVA:
- Maryland MVA Photo Identification (ID) card - if you have one. *This ID card must be surrendered to obtain a moped operator's permit.
- Glasses or contact lenses, if needed (see Vision and Screening Requirements for more information);
- If you are less than 18 years of age, you must be accompanied by your parent/guardian who will be required to sign the application in the presence of an MVA representative; and
Visit any MVA full-service branch office. When you arrive, the Customer Agent will:
- Take your photograph. See MVA Photo Guidelines.
- Review your documents;
- Conduct a vision screening or review your vision screening form;
- Verify your eligibility;
- Have you sign the application following the MVA Signature Guidelines.
- Administer the knowledge test.(Same test that is required to obtain a Class C learner's permit).
Note: MVA Photo Guidelines: Because of the ever increasing need to use a photo driver’s license, learner’s permit or moped permit as proof of personal identification (i.e.: MVA, Law Enforcement, Homeland Security, etc.) in addition to its role as a licensing document, the Maryland MVA is required to follow and enforce certain guidelines concerning approving and using an acceptable digital image/photograph on these license products. The same guidelines would also follow for the issuance of a Maryland Photo Identification Card.
The MVA will not permit an applicant to significantly alter, hide or enhance their face or facial features by the use or excessive use of:
- Face Paint
- Cosmetic Contacts
- Facial Contortions
- Hats/Scarves/Other Clothing
- Hands, etc.
If a supervisor deems it necessary, the customer will be required to remove the unacceptable face paint, cosmetics, etc. before a photo is taken.If a photo image is taken and it is determined to be unacceptable by an MVA supervisor due to any of the above reasons or otherwise, the MVA reserves the right to require that the customer either sits for another image or is refused the issuance of the MVA product.
- Issuance of license: TR, 16-111.1(d)(2-iv): A color photograph of the applicant that is taken in accordance with a procedure that the Administration requires.
- Form and contents of an Identification Card: TR, 12-301(g)(2v): A color photograph of the applicant taken by the procedure that the Administration requires.
Each applicant for an MVA License, Learner’s Permit, Moped Permit or Identification Card MUST sign their usual signature (actual legal name only) on the MVA product application certifying that the statements made in it are true. The usual signature must consist of their “Actual Legal Name” and may NOT contain additional titles, verbiage, information or anything else such as:
1). Mr. or Mrs. etc.
2). Dr. or Esquire or Reverend/Pastor, etc.
3). Nick Names that are not a shortened version of the first name as noted below.
4). Artwork , Characters, Symbols or additional Marks of any kind such as: Smiley Faces, Flowers, etc.
5). Additional Names not verified on/by their ID documents (or approved by the MVA) or additional
Comments or Notes, etc.
Note: The applicant may sign a shortened version of their first name instead of using the full name such as:
a). “Nick” for Nicholas
b). “Bob” for Robert
c). “Sam” for Samantha
Effective October 1, 2012 all mopeds and motor scooters will be required to be titled electronically and will be issued a permanent decal to place on the rear of the moped or motor scooter. There will be no title fee or excise tax charged if the moped or motor scooter was owned prior to October 1, 2012, as long as it is titled before October 1, 2013. All moped and motor scooter owners will be required to pay the required titling and excise fees as of October 1, 2013.
Individuals will also be required to verify at the time of titling that they carry at least the minimum amount of liability insurance for the moped or motor scooter and they must carry a current insurance card with them when operating this vehicle. Operators of mopeds and motor scooters are required to wear an approved motorcycle helmet and approved eye protective device. Riders must wear an approved motorcycle helmet. Please see Mopeds and Motor Scooters and Titling - Mopeds and Motor Scooters for additional information.
Upon successful completion, the Customer Agent will retrieve your Maryland ID card, if applicable, collect the fee, and issue the permit.
- There is a fee for a moped permit.
Driver Services Division
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
For telephone questions:
MVA Customer Service Center: