
DR-015 (10-15)                       ADVICE OF RIGHTS – (§16-205.1 of Maryland Transportation Article) 

You have been stopped or detained and reasonable grounds exist to believe that you have been driving or attempting to drive a motor vehicle under 
circumstances requiring that you be asked to submit to a test under § 16-205.1 of the Maryland Vehicle Law. In this situation, the law deems that you have 
consented to take a test to measure the alcohol concentration or drug or controlled dangerous substance content in your system. You may refuse to submit to the 
test(s), unless you were in a motor vehicle accident resulting in the death of or life-threatening injury to another person.

Suspension of Your Maryland Driver’s License or Driving Privilege:
If you refuse to submit to the test, or submit to the test and the result indicates an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more at the time of testing, your Maryland 
driver’s license will be confiscated, you will be issued an Order of Suspension and, if eligible, a temporary license valid for 45 days. The following periods of 
suspension shall be imposed against your license or privilege to drive in Maryland:
	 If your test result is an alcohol concentration of at least 0.08 but less than 0.15, the suspension will be 45 days for a 1st offense and 90 days for 
a 2nd or subsequent offense. If the offense involves a motor vehicle accident that resulted in the death of another person your suspension will be 6 
months for a 1st offense and 1 year for a 2nd or subsequent offense.
	 If your test result is an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more, the suspension will be 90 days for a 1st offense and 180 days for a 2nd or subsequent 
offense. If the offense involves a motor vehicle accident that resulted in the death of another person your suspension will be 1 year for a first offense 
and for a 2nd or subsequent offense your license will be revoked.
	 If you refuse to submit to a test: The suspension will be 120 days for a first offense and 1 year for a second or subsequent offense.
An additional criminal penalty of not more than $500 or imprisonment for not more than 2 months, or both, may be imposed under § 27-101(x) of the Maryland 
Vehicle Law if you are convicted of a drunk or drugged driving offense under § 21-902, and the judge or jury finds beyond a reasonable doubt that you 
knowingly refused to take a test arising out of the same circumstances. If you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and were driving a non-commercial 
motor vehicle when you were stopped, and refuse to submit to a test, your CDL or privilege will be disqualified for one year for a first offense or for life if your 
CDL or privilege has been previously disqualified for at least 1 year under §16-812(a) or (b) of the Maryland Transportation Article, a federal law, or any other 
state’s law.  If you were driving a commercial motor vehicle and refuse the test, your CDL or privilege will be disqualified as set forth below. 

Modification of the Suspension or Issuance of a Restrictive License:  
	 If your test result is an alcohol concentration of 0.08 but less than 0.15: The suspension may be modified or a restrictive license issued at a hearing in 
certain circumstances.
	 If you refuse a test, or take a test with a result of 0.15 or more: You will be ineligible for modification of the suspension or issuance of a restrictive 
license, unless you participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program under § 16-404.1 of the Maryland Vehicle Law. This program requires the 
vehicle(s) you drive to be equipped with a device that prevents you from operating it if you have alcohol in your blood. At a hearing, if you request one, an 
administrative judge may modify a suspension by permitting you to participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program for 1 year, but is not required to do so. 
Instead of requesting a hearing, you may elect to participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program for 1 year, instead of the period of suspension, 
if the following conditions are met:  1) your driver’s license is not currently suspended, revoked, canceled, or refused; 2) you were not charged with a moving 
violation arising out of the same circumstances as the Order of Suspension that involved the death of, or serious physical injury to, another person; and 3) 
within thirty (30) days of the date of this Order of Suspension you a) elect in writing to participate in the Ignition Interlock System Program for one year, 
instead of a hearing, and b) surrender a valid Maryland driver’s license or sign a statement certifying that the license is no longer in your possession.  An 
ignition interlock election form is located on the reverse side of the driver’s copy of the Order of Suspension.

Offenses Occurring While Driving a Commercial Motor Vehicle:  In addition to any suspension for a test failure or refusal, if you were operating a 
commercial motor vehicle and your test result indicates an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more, or you refuse to take a test your commercial driver’s 
license or privilege shall be disqualified1 year for a first offense, or 3 years for a first offense committed while transporting hazardous materials required to be 
placarded, and disqualified for life if your commercial driver’s license has been previously disqualified for at least 1 year under MD TA§16-812(a) or (b), a 
federal law, or any other state’s law.

You Have the Right to Request an Administrative Hearing:
You may request an Administrative Hearing at any time within 30 days of the date of the Order of Suspension to show cause why your driver’s license or 
privilege should not be suspended.  You must request a hearing within 10 days of the date of the Order of Suspension to insure that your privilege to drive is not 
suspended prior to your hearing.  Your request for a hearing must be made in writing.  You may use the “Hearing Request” form if available.  Send your request 
to the Office of Administrative Hearings at 11101 Gilroy Rd., Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1301.  You must include a check or money order for $150.00, which is 
the required filing fee, made payable to the “Maryland State Treasurer.”  Your request for a hearing will be invalid if submitted without the required $150.00 
filing fee. (or applicable fee waiver).

Your Driver’s license or Privilege will be Suspended on the 46th Day after the Order of Suspension if: You do not request a hearing within 10 days of 
the date of the Order of Suspension or, if eligible, you do not elect within 30 days of the Order of Suspension to participate in the Ignition Interlock System 
Program for one year instead of requesting a hearing.  If you submit a valid hearing request, a suspension will not be imposed unless a decision is rendered 
against you, or if you fail to appear for the hearing.

Certification:  I, the Undersigned Police Officer, certify that I have advised the driver of the above stated rights and sanctions. 

I, the undersigned officer, have provided the driver with the aforementioned in: English and Spanish.

Read Before Signing: I, the undersigned driver, acknowledge that I have been read or I have read the above stated Advice of Rights as certified by the police 
officer.  I understand that this requested test is in addition to any preliminary tests that were taken. 
Having been so advised, do you now agree to submit to a test?  (Officer check reply)

❑	Yes - Agree to submit to an alcohol concentration test     	❑	Yes - Agree to submit to a test for drug or controlled dangerous substance (CDS) 
	 Si – Acepta someterse a una prueba de concentracion		  Si – Acepta someterse a una prueba de drogas o sustancias peligrosas controladas (CDS)
	 De alchohol en la sangre
❑	No - Alcohol concentration test refused	 ❑	No - Drug or CDS test refused (DRE must complete & submit DRE Certification Form)
	 No – La prueba de concentracion de alchohol en la		  No – La prueba de drogas o CDS ha sido rechazada (un Experto en el  
	 Sangre ha sido rechazada		  Reconocimiento de Drogas [DRE, en sus siglas en ingles’] debe completar 			 
	 	 	 Y presenter el formulario DRE de certificacion

Driver Signature_________________________________ 	Date__________________ 	 Time_______________ 	 DR-015A Control #_ ________________
Firma del conductor 		 Fecha 		  Hora 		  No. de Control del DR-015A

Signature of Officer___________________________________ 	I.D. No._ _________________ 	Police Agency_ _____________________________
Firma del Oficial	 	No. de identificación (ID)	 	Agencia de Policía 



NOTIFICACIÓN DE DERECHOS – (§16-205.1 del Artículo de Transporte de Maryland) 
Usted ha sido detenido y existen motivos razonables para creer que ha estado conduciendo o intentando conducir un vehículo motorizado bajo circunstancias que requieren 
que se le solicite que se someta a una prueba según la Ley de Vehículos de Maryland  § 16-205.1. En esta situación, la ley considera que usted ha dado su consentimiento 
para realizar una prueba para medir la concentración de alcohol o drogas o el contenido de sustancias peligrosas controladas en su cuerpo. Usted puede negarse a someterse 
a esta prueba, a menos que haya estado en un accidente de tráfico que haya provocado la muerte o lesiones potencialmente mortales a otra persona. 

Suspensión de su Licencia de Conducción de Maryland o Privilegio de Conducir: 
Si usted se niega a someterse a esta prueba, o se realiza la prueba y el resultado indica una concentración de alcohol de 0.08 o más en el momento de la prueba, su licencia 
de conducción de Maryland será confiscada, se le emitirá un Orden de Suspensión y, si es elegible, una licencia temporal válida por 45 días. Se impondrán los siguientes 
períodos de suspensión en contra de su licencia o privilegio de conducción en Maryland: 
	 Si el resultado de la prueba es una concentración de alcohol de por lo menos 0.08 pero inferior a 0.15, la suspensión será de 45 días para la 1ª infracción 
y 90 días para una 2ª infracción o posterior. Si la infracción involucra un accidente de tráfico que resultó en la muerte de otra persona la suspensión será de 6 meses 
para la 1ª infracción y de 1 año para una 2ª infracción o posterior.
	 Si el resultado de la prueba es una concentración de alcohol de 0.15 o más, la suspensión será de 90 días para la 1ª infracción y 180 días para una 2ª 
infracción o posterior. Si la infracción involucra un accidente de tráfico que resultó en la muerte de otra persona la suspensión será de 1 año para la 1ª infracción y 
para una 2ª infracción o posterior su licencia será suspendida.
	 Si usted se niega a someterse a una prueba: La suspensión será de 120 días por la primera infracción y de 1 año para la segunda infracción o posterior. 
Una sanción penal adicional de no más de $500 o encarcelamiento por no más de 2 meses, o ambos, podrá ser impuesta según la Ley de Vehículos de Maryland § 27-
101(x) si se le encuentra culpable de una infracción por  conducir ebrio o drogado según la Ley § 21-902, y el juez o jurado consideran más allá de toda duda razonable 
que usted se negó a sabiendas a tomar una prueba proveniente de las mismas circunstancias. Si usted dispone de una licencia de conducción comercial (CDL) y estuviese 
conduciendo un vehículo motorizado no comercial cuando este tenido, y se niega a presentar una prueba, su CDL o privilegio serán descalificados por un año por la 
primera infracción o de por vida si su CDL o privilegio ha sido descalificado anteriormente por al menos un año según la Ley §16-812(a) o (b) del Artículo de Transporte 
de Maryland, una ley federal o cualquier otra ley estatal.  Si usted estuviese conduciendo un vehículo motorizado comercial y se rehúsa a presentar la prueba, su CDL o 
privilegio serán descalificados como se detalla a continuación. 
	 Modificación de la Suspensión o Emisión de una Licencia Restrictiva: 
	 Si el resultado de la prueba es una concentración de alcohol de 0.08 pero menor que 0.15: La suspensión puede ser modificada o se puede emitir una 
licencia restrictiva en una audiencia en determinadas circunstancias.
	 Si usted se niega a tomar la prueba, o toma la prueba con un resultado de 0.15 o más: Usted no es será elegible para modificación de la suspensión o 
emisión de una licencia restrictiva a menos que participe en el Programa del Sistema de Bloqueo de Encendido (Ignition Interlock System Program) conforme a 
la Ley de Vehículos del Maryland § 16-404.1 Este programa requiere que el vehículo (o vehículos) que usted va a conducir este equipado con un dispositivo que evite su 
funcionamiento si usted tiene alcohol en la sangre. En una audiencia, si usted la solicita, un juez administrativo puede modificar la suspensión permitiéndole participar en 
el Programa del Sistema de Bloqueo de Encendido por 1 año, pero no se requiere que así lo haga. En lugar de solicitar una audiencia, usted puede optar por participar 
en el Programa del Sistema de Bloqueo de Encendido durante 1 año, en lugar del período de suspensión, si se cumplen las siguientes condiciones:  1) su licencia de 
conducción no está actualmente suspendida, revocada, cancelada o denegada; 2) usted no fue acusado de una violación móvil que surja de las mismas circunstancias como 
la Orden de Suspensión que involucrara la muerte o lesiones graves de otra persona; y 3) en un lapso de treinta (30) días a partir de la fecha de esta Orden de Suspensión 
usted: a) eligió por escrito participar en el Programa del Sistema de Bloqueo de Encendido por un año, en lugar de una audiencia, y b) presentó una licencia de conducción 
válida de Maryland o firmó una declaración certificando que la licencia ya no está en su posesión.  En la parte posterior de la copia del conductor de la Orden de Suspensión 
se encuentra un formulario de elección de bloqueo de encendido.

Infracciones que Suceden Mientras se Conduce un Vehículo Motorizado Comercial:  Además de cualquier suspensión por fallar en la prueba o negarse a ella, si usted 
estuviese operando un vehículo motorizado comercial y los resultados de la prueba indican una concentración de alcohol de 0.04 o más, o si usted se niega a tomar la prueba 
su licencia de conducción comercial o privilegio pueden ser descalificados por 1 año por la primera ofensa, o por 3 años por la primera infracción cometida al transportar 
materiales peligrosos que deben rotularse, y descalificarse de por vida si su licencia de conducción comercial ha sido descalificada previamente por al menos 1 año según la 
Ley §16-812(a) o (b) del Artículo de Transporte de Maryland, una ley federal o cualquier otra ley estatal.

Usted Tiene el Derecho de Solicitar una Audiencia Administrativa:
Usted puede solicitar una Audiencia Administrativa en cualquier momento en un lapso de 30 días a partir de la fecha de la Orden de Suspensión para mostrar la razón por la 
cual su licencia de conducción o privilegio no deben ser suspendidos.  Usted debe solicitar una audiencia dentro de los 10 días siguientes a la fecha de la Orden de Suspensión 
para asegurarse de que su privilegio de conducir no se suspenda antes de la audiencia.  Su solicitud de audiencia debe realizarse por escrito.  Usted puede el formulario de 
“Solicitud de Audiencia” si está disponible.  Envíe su solicitud a la Oficina de Audiencias Administrativas en 11101 Gilroy Rd., Hunt Valley, MD 21031-1301.  Debe incluir 
un cheque o giro postal por $150.00, que es la tasa correspondiente, pagadera a “Tesorero del Estado de Maryland”.  Su petición de audiencia no será válida si se envía sin el 
pago requerido de $150.00. (o exención de tarifa aplicable).

Su Licencia de Conducción o Privilegio serán Suspendidos el Día 46 después de la Orden de Suspensión si: Usted no solicita una audiencia dentro de 10 días a partir de 
la fecha de la Orden de Suspensión o, si es elegible, usted no elige dentro de 30 días a partir de la Orden de Suspensión participar en el Programa del Sistema de Bloqueo de 
Encendido por un año en lugar de solicitar una audiencia.  Si usted envía una solicitud de audiencia válida, no se impondrá una suspensión a menos que se tome una decisión 
en su contra, o si usted no se presenta en la audiencia.

Certificación: Yo, el Oficial de Policía Abajo Firmante, certifico que he aconsejado al conductor acerca de los derechos y sanciones arriba mencionados. 

Yo, el Oficial Abajo Firmante, le he proporcionado al conductor la información anterior en: inglés y español.

Leer Antes de Firmar: Yo, el Conductor Abajo Firmante, reconozco que me han leído o he leído la Notificación de Derechos arriba mencionada como lo certifica el 
oficial de policía. Comprendo que esta prueba solicitada es adicional a cualquier prueba preliminar que se haya realizado. 
Tras haber sido informado, ¿está usted de acuerdo en someterse a la prueba?  (El Oficial marca la respuesta)

DR-015 (10-15)


