
Motor Vehicle Administration
6601 Ritchie Highway, N.E.
Glen Burnie, Maryland 21062

For more information, please call: 410-768-7000 (to speak with a customer agent).
TTY for the hearing impaired: 1-800-492-4575. Visit our website at: www.MVA.Maryland.gov

VR-028 (02-16)

Application for a Salvage Certificate/Owner Retention

q �Check here if applying for a 
Salvage Certificate

This application is to be used by the vehicle owner, when a vehicle is sold as salvage pursuant to 
§13-506 and §13-507 or acquired as an abandoned vehicle from a police auction pursuant to  
§25-207 of the Maryland Vehicle Law.
For reference refer to back of this form.

Certificate # (MVA Use Only)

q �Check here for 
Owner Retention

Maryland Vehicle Law §13-506.1 requires the insurance company to promptly notify the Motor Vehicle Administration of vehicles that  
have been settled as a salvage and are being retained by the owner.

If the applicant checks boxes 1 or 6, a Corrected Certificate of Title bearing the appropriate brand will be issued. The fee will be $40.00.
If the applicant checks box 3, a Salvage Certificate bearing the appropriate brand will be issued. The fee will be $20.00.
NOTE: Boxes 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9 are not applicable for owner retention.

Applicant’s Full Name	 Date of Birth	 FEIN #	 Driver’s License Number

Co-Applicant’s Full Name	 Date of Birth		  Driver’s License Number

Street Address	 City or Town	 State	 Zip Code

Description of Salvage Vehicle:
Year Make Model Body Style Vehicle Identification Number Gross Vehicle Weight Out of State Title # Maryland Title #

Applicant Is:
q �Insurance Company
q �Vehicle Owner
q �Automotive Dismantler & Recycler
q �Scrap Processor

For:

q �Original

q �Duplicate

Reason For Duplicate:
q �Lost
q �Stolen
q �Mutilated
q �Other

Certificate of Origin? q �Yes    q �No

Odometer Reading ________________________ (No Tenths)
q	1. The mileage stated is in excess of its mechanical limits.
q	2. The odometer reading is not the actual mileage.

Warning - Odometer Discrepancy

To be completed by applicant:

q	 1.	 Damage is greater than 75% of the fair market value and repairable.

q	 2.	 Damage is 75% or less of fair market value.

q	 3.	 The vehicle is not rebuildable, will only be used for parts, and is not to be retitled.

q	 4.	 Abandoned vehicle or acquired in the normal business of an Automotive Dismantler & Recycler.

q	 5.	 Recovered Stolen with damage 75% or less of the fair market value will be issued a Salvage Certificate branded “Recovered Stolen”.

q	 6.	 Flood damage

q	 7.	 Recovered Stolen with damage 75% or less than the fair market value and requesting a Certificate of Title - Complete an Application for Certificate of Title (VR-005).

q	 8.	 Stolen

I certify under penalty of perjury, that the statements herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information and belief.

Signature of Applicant(s) or Authorized Agent:____________________________________________________________________________________ 	 Date:________________________________________________________________________________
	 If a company, must be signed by an authorized agent (capacity)

Printed Name of Applicant(s):____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 	 Date:________________________________________________________________________________

Business Name:______________________________________________________________________ 	 FEIN #____________________________________ 	 Date:_ _________________________________________________________________________

Purchase Price $____________________

Dealer #_ ___________________________

Auctioneer #________________________

Title Service #_______________________

Scrap Processor #___________________

AD&R #_____________________________

FOR INSURANCE COMPANY USE ONLY
Date of Accident

Were the tag(s) destroyed as a result of the accident?

q Yes    q No    Tag No. _________________________

This application must be accompanied by a copy of the valid state issued identification(s) of the applicant(s) and any person presenting the application.



Apply to register to vote with your driver’s license transaction. For details ask your customer agent.

to Vote Now!

Apply to...

“Salvage” Definition:

“Salvage” means any vehicle that has been damaged by collision, fire, flood, accident, trespass, or other occurrence to the extent the cost to repair the  
vehicle for legal operation safely on a highway exceeds 75% of the fair market value prior to sustaining the damage, as determined under §13-506(C) (4) has 
been acquired by an insurance company as a result of a claim settlement; or has been acquired by an Automotive Dismantler and Recycler as an  
abandoned vehicle under §25-201 of this Article for rebuilding or for use as parts only. For purpose of this section, a vehicle has not been acquired by an 
insurance company if an owner retains possession of the vehicle upon settlement of a claim concerning the vehicle by the insurance company.

Salvage Certificates

Salvage Certificates are ownership documents:
	 •	 An insurance company retains a vehicle as a result of a claim settlement.
	 •	 An automotive dismantler and recycler acquires the vehicle for rebuilding or parts.

Brands:

All salvage certificates are branded. A brand is a simple way of identifying the current or previous condition of a vehicle for the purpose of protecting the 
interest of the consumer.

A Salvage Certificate is branded according to the categories listed below:
	 •	 Damage is greater than 75% of the fair market value and repairable.
	 •	 The vehicle is not rebuildable, will only be used for parts, and is not to be retitled.
	 •	 Abandoned Vehicle or Acquired in the normal business of an Automotive Dismantler & Recycler.
	 •	 Recovered Stolen with damage 75% or less than fair market value will be issued a Salvage Certificate branded “Recovered Salvage”.
	 •	 Flood Damage
	 •	� Recovered Stolen with damage 75% or less of fair market value and requesting a Certificate of Title, complete an Application for Certificate of Title  

(VR-005) and submit a $100.00 fee along with the Application for a Salvage Certificate (VR-028).
	 •	 Damage is 75% or less of fair market value.

Owner Retention:

The MVA is notified of an owner retention when the cost to repair the vehicle for highway operation is greater than 75% of the fair market value, the vehicle 
has sustained flood damage, or the vehicle is non-repairable and will be used for parts only. The insurance company must state, on this application the  
cost to repair the vehicle for highway operation is greater than 75% of the fair market value, the vehicle has sustained flood damage, or the vehicle is non-
repairable and will be used for parts only.

Please Note:	 A Salvage Certificate will be issued for parts only.

The title certificate to this vehicle must accompany this application.


	sal_cert: Off
	name1: 
	birth1: 
	fein_no1: 
	lic_no1: 
	name2: 
	birth2: 
	lic_no2: 
	address1: 
	city1: 
	year: 
	make: 
	model: 
	body: 
	veh_id: 
	gross_wt: 
	out_of_st_title: 
	appl: Off
	for: Off
	dupl_reason: Off
	md_title: 
	cert_orig: Off
	mileage: Off
	cost_greater: Off
	odometer1: 
	date1: 
	state1: 
	printed name of app: 
	state: 
	DealerNumber: 
	AuctioneerNumber: 
	TitleServiceNumber: 
	ScrapProcessorNumber: 
	PurchasePrice: 
	ADR: 
	date2: 
	date3: 
	bus_name: 
	feinBottom: 
	TagsDestroyed: Off
	Date Of Accident: 
	Tag Number: 


