FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
|CONTACT:||Buel C. Young||MVA Media Relations|
Safety Reminder – ‘Move Over’ Law Intended to Increase Safety On Highways
Law Says Slow Down, Change Lanes
GLEN BURNIE, MD (November 15, 2013) - Yesterday’s tragic crash along the Baltimore Beltway near Parkville, Maryland which killed a Maryland State Highway Administration employee and injured another necessitates the need to remind motorist of Maryland’s Move Over law.
The law requires drivers, if possible, to move over into the next lane when approaching an emergency vehicle from the rear that is stopped and displaying its emergency lights. If it is not possible for drivers to move over they must slow down and be prepared to stop if necessary.
While the Move Over law applies to emergency vehicles like ambulances and police cars, drivers should exercise this same caution whenever they come across an accident, disabled vehicle, or road crew on the side of the road. The intent of the law is to provide an extra barrier of safety for those working along the side of Maryland highways.
Drivers who fail to obey the Move Over law face a fine of $80 and one point on their driving record. If the violation results in a crash, the fine is $120 and three points.
“I was saddened to hear about yesterday’s tragic incident,” said Maryland Motor Vehicle Administrator John Kuo who also serves as the Governor’s Representative for Highway Safety. “I extend my deepest condolences to the family who lost a love one, and my prayers of support to the family of the injured. Maryland’s Move Over law exists for the safety of everyone. Drivers should remain alert while driving and move over or slow down and be prepared to stop whenever approaching any activity along the shoulder on the highway.”
Maryland’s Move Over law took effect on October 1, 2010.