MVA offers many services electronically which are available on our website 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Customers may also conduct many transactions using our self-service kiosks (when the MVA offices are open) and our automated interactive voice response telephone systems.
EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 1, 2014: DRIVERS KNOWLEDGE TEST
Only individuals testing for the first time will be permitted to take the driver knowledge test on a Saturday. Individuals who wish to re-take the driver's knowledge test must do so Monday through Friday. The MVA encourages all applicants for a Maryland learner's permit to study the Maryland Driver's Manual before attempting to take the knowledge test to ensure success.
EFFECTIVE JUNE 1: VEHICLE REGISTRATION SURCHARGE INCREASES
Surcharge increased from $13.50 to $17.00 as part of Transportation Infrastructure Investment Act of 2013. New dollars will go directly to the Maryland Emergency Medical System Operations Fund to support Maryland’s world-renowned Trauma and EMS system, including the State Police Aviation Command, R Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, the Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute and the Volunteer Company Assistance Fund.
NEW TAX CREDIT FOR ELECTRIC AND PLUG-IN HYBRID ELECTRIC VEHICLES
You may be eligible for a one-time excise tax credit, up to $1000.00, when you purchase a qualifying plug-in electric vehicle. Effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014, an individual may be entitled to receive an excise tax credit on a qualifying plug-in electric vehicle regardless of whether they own lease the vehicle. Learn more...
WAIVER OF IRP REQUIREMENTS
Effective 11/1, Maryland will authorize a temporary waiver of IRP registration due to Hurricane Sandy. Learn more...
2012 MVA FEE & LEGISLATIVE CHANGES
For more information on the legislative and fees changes for 2012...
FLOOD DAMAGE CARS ADVISORY
In the wake of Hurricane Sandy, tens of thousands of flood cars that have been submerged in salt water, and contaminated by bacteria and various toxins, will soon start to appear all over the country, even in states far from the center of the storm. AAMVA members should be aware that these vehicles may show up in their jurisdictions, and those vehicles that are flood damaged may be deemed total loss and reported to NMVTIS. Jurisdictions that currently do not have access to NMVTIS may want to consider getting access to NMVTIS for at minimum out-of-state vehicles from flood impacted states.
For questions regarding NMVTIS, contact Vivenne Cameron, Senior Director, AAMVA, at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 703.908.8261. For additional consumer tips on flood damaged cars from the Consumers for Auto Reliability and Safety (CARS), visit www.carconsumers.org/.
MARYLAND MVA CREATES CONVENIENT "GREEN" WAY TO RENEW VEHICLE REGISTRATIONS
The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) is offering another convenient, environmentally-friendly electronic option to make interacting with the MVA as customer friendly as possible. Click here to read more...
TEMPORARY REGISTRATION PLATES
Effective October 1, 2010, Maryland car dealers must transmit vehicle and registration information electronically to the MVA on the same day that they issue a 60-day temporary registration.
ARE YOU DRIVING INTEXTICATED?
There's a new and real threat on our roads. It's one that has caught many of us off guard: Text Messaging. In 2009, Maryland adopted a law prohibiting the sending of text messages while driving. Read more…
MVA AND OAH IMPROVE HEARING PROCESS
The Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) and the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) have streamlined the process for motor vehicle related hearings. For more information...
DRIVER'S LICENSING CHANGES
On October 1, 2009, the minimum age requirement for getting a provisional driver's license and a regular driver's license changes. Those who hold a learner's permit will have to wait a full nine (9) months before being eligible for a provisional license. For more information...
TEXTING WHILE DRIVING LAW
MVA Administrator John Kuo talks about Maryland's new texting while driving law that went into effect October 1, 2009. Click here to watch the video.
NONCOMMERCIAL DRIVING SKILLS TEST
Effective September 16, 2010, All MVA Full Service Branch Offices are administering a new non-commercial Class C driving skills test that consists of both course maneuvers and a public road portion to test various driving skills. For additional information...
PROOF OF LAWFUL PRESENCE
Maryland's law regarding proof of lawful presence took effect on June 1, 2009. The Maryland driver's license requirements have changed in accordance with this new law. For more information...
EVIDENCIA DE PRESENTIA LEGAL
La Asamblea General de Maryland aprobó el proyecto de ley HB 387 que trata sobre la evidencia de presencia legal, el cual entrará en vigencia el 1 de junio de 2009. Los requerimientos para la licencia de conducir de Maryland cambiarán en virtud de esta nueva ley. Para más información...
DEALER SUPPORT CENTER
In light of recent events concerning Chrysler LLC and General Motors Corporation, a Dealer Support Center has been created to assist Maryland dealers in this time of transition.