NOTE: If you have already obtained a certification of tax filings letter from the Maryland Comptroller’s Office, you must wait until the next business day to schedule your appointment online with the MVA to apply for a DL / ID.
Customers presenting foreign documentation without valid accompanying United States Citizenship and Immigration Services documentation are required to schedule an appointment online at www.mva.maryland.gov/license to apply for a Maryland Driver’s License (DL) or Identification Card (ID). Appointments will begin January 2, 2014.
Before scheduling your appointment online through the MVA website, you will need to obtain a certification letter from the Maryland Comptroller’s Office with a unique number in order to schedule an appointment. You can apply for a certification letter online through the Comptroller’s website
You are also advised to take the following steps in preparation:
- Apply for an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number through the Internal Revenue Service, http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/General-ITIN-Information;
- File Maryland Income Taxes for the preceding 2 years;
- Apply for and obtain identity documents such as a valid, current foreign passport;
- Obtain two residency documents such as copies of a residential lease, utility bill, or bank statement; and
- Study the Maryland Driver’s Manual and take the Online Driver Test Tutorial to prepare for the knowledge test.
If you are seeking a Driver’s License and have a foreign license that is not suspended or revoked, you will need to present the license and complete the 3-hour Alcohol and Drug Education Program before taking your driving skills test.
If you are seeking a Driver’s License and DO NOT have a foreign license, you will need to first obtain a Learner’s Permit and complete the Maryland Driver Education Program and meet other requirements before taking your driving skills test.
Standard fees for a DL / ID will apply. Any person offering to assist you in obtaining your driver’s license in exchange for money does not work for the MVA. Use extreme caution in working with any third party to assist in obtaining a DL / ID.
Maryland Law (Transportation Article §12-117) prohibits solicitation for money at state offices for assistance and provides for a fine of up to $500.
Please continue to check the website for the most up to date information.