I received a mail-in driver's license renewal application. Do I have to mail my renewal in or can I still renew in person?
You may do either. The option of mailing in your renewal or waiting at an MVA office to renew is entirely up to you. Generally, the best time to get a driver's license renewed is the middle of the week. Mondays, Fridays and Saturdays are going to be very busy at the MVA and the end of the month is also extremely busy.
Why didn't I receive a mail-in driver's license renewal?
Some drivers will not receive an invitation to renew by mail, and the most common reason is the lack of a verifiable social security number. Federal law requires the MVA to collect the social security number for all those who are obtaining or renewing a Maryland driver's license, permit or ID card and if your social security number does not verify with the Social Security Administration's records, you will need to renew your driver's license in person and present documented proof of a verifiable social security number or proof of ineligibility for a social security number. The MVA keeps all social security numbers private. It is not being placed on your license.
Certain restrictions on your license may also prevent you from being able to renew by mail. Commercial drivers are not allowed to renew by mail. Only noncommercial drivers older than 26 are eligible.
Why was my mail-in driver's license renewal rejected?
Renewal applications must be signed by the applicant. That is the most common error renewal applicants are making. The other is the vision certification that is required for people 40 years of age and older. The vision certification section that was sent with the renewal notice must be completed and signed by a vision specialist. Vision certifications that are not part of the renewal notice or those that are faxed or scanned cannot be accepted by the automated system. The renewal application is read by an automated computer system.
Additionally, an application may not have the payment section signed. Also, only one payment is accepted per each individual license renewal. If you have to make a name change or change your address, the automated system cannot process your application.
Occasionally, the system may return your application in error. If your application is sent back to you and you still wish to renew by mail, you can still do so if you have at least 15 days left until your current license expires.
Why are some people required to obtain a vision certification and others are not?
Maryland's law requires individuals who are 40 and older to obtain a vision certification (or complete a vision test/screening) every time their Maryland driver's license is renewed. Individuals under the age of 40 are required to obtain a vision certification (or complete a vision test/screening) every other time their Maryland driver's license is renewed.
Do I have to obtain a vision certification if I plan to renew in person?
If you renew in person, you do not have to obtain a vision certification. You will be given a vision screening at the MVA when you renew or you may bring your vision certification from your vision specialist. If you do plan to renew by mail and you are required to obtain a vision certification, please make certain that your vision specialist completes the certification section of the renewal application. The mail-in renewal system cannot accept any other vision forms.
Can my optometrist submit my vision certification on a separate form or a faxed copy of the rear of the form so I can renew by mail?
Unfortunately, no supplements or attachments are acceptable. The renewal application and vision certification are scanned and read electronically. Therefore, the vision certification in the application must be completed, or the system will determine that it is missing and it will subsequently reject the renewal application.
Can I change my address or my name along with my mail-in renewal?
For security reasons, an address or name cannot be changed with a mail-in driver's license renewal. You can change your address online, or by calling the Customer Service Center at 410-768-7000, or in person so long as you do it before the renewal application is mailed out to you. If you are changing your name, you must do so in person.
Can I pay for a renewal with a check that has been returned with a rejected mail-in renewal?
Yes, the MVA can accept a check that was returned with a mail-in renewal application. The check would not have been endorsed or deposited.
Driver Licensing Questions | Driver Record Questions | Lawful Presence Questions | Low Speed Vehicle Questions | Mail-In Renewal Questions | Moped and Motor Scooter Questions | MVA E-Mail Questions | Title VI Questions | Vehicle Registration and Titling Questions