Driver Record Expungement by Request
Expungement refers to the removal of points and violations from a driver record that were placed there after the driver was convicted of violating certain laws, if the customer meets certain conditions as stated in Maryland law.
The MVA will automatically expunge your driver record 3 years after your conviction, if the following criteria are met:
- You have not been convicted of another moving violation or criminal offense involving a motor vehicle during the previous 3 years; and,
- Your driver’s license has never been suspended or revoked; and,
- You have never been convicted of, or been granted probation before judgment (PBJ) for
- Failing to remain at the scene of an accident resulting in bodily injury or death; or,
- Driving while intoxicated, driving under the influence, or driving impaired; or,
- A violation that is identical to or substantially similar to those listed above.
What if I don't meet all these criteria?
If you do not meet the criteria for automatic expungement shown above, you may still be able to request manual expungement under certain circumstances. Your eligibility for manual expungement depends upon the offense for which you were convicted and the length of time since your last conviction. The MVA must follow Maryland law in deciding whether or not to grant manual expungement of a driver record.
How do I request manual expungement of my driver record?
- Your name (first, middle and last);
- Your address (street, city, state, Zip Code);
- Your driver’s license number (soundex);
- Your date of birth;
- A statement indicating that you either have been, or have not been, convicted of a criminal offense in which a motor vehicle was involved. If you have been convicted of a criminal offense in which a motor vehicle was involved, provide the location and date of the offense;
- A statement indicating that you either do, or do not have, any summonses or criminal charges involving a motor vehicle now pending or outstanding in Maryland, or in any other state. If you have any summonses or charges pending or outstanding, provide the nature of the pending offenses and trial dates; and
- Your original signature, in ink.
Your request for driver record expungement will be reviewed to determine if you are eligible. The Administrative Adjudication Division then will inform you in writing whether or not your request has been granted.
- There is no fee for requesting the manual expungement of a driver record.
- There is a fee for each non-certified driving record requested.
- There is a fee for each certified driving record requested.
Administrative Adjudication Division
6601 Ritchie Highway,NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
For telephone questions:
MVA Customer Service Center: