Effective January 1, 2014, your Maryland Federally Non-Compliant full driver’s license will NOT be issued at the time of your transaction; however, it will be mailed to your Maryland residential address on file. Your current/previous Maryland driver’s license (if applicable) will be returned to you along with a new interim receipt; or , your out-of-state driver’s license will be invalidated by the MVA with a hole punched in it and returned to you along with a new interim receipt.
Note: Once you have been processed for a Federally Non-Compliant full driver’s license you may use your expiring Maryland driver’s license or out-of-state driver’s license (if applicable) along with the paper “Interim Receipt” that you received from the MVA as a valid license to drive on until you receive your actual photo license. You should expect to receive your license in the mail within 10 days. *Be sure to destroy your current photo license after you have received your new license (if applicable).
If drivers change their name and/or Maryland address, Maryland law requires them to notify the MVA within 30 days. Address changes for a noncommercial license or ID card may be changed by mail, online or MVA Kiosk. Name changes MUST be done in person at any MVA office. CDL license and learner's permit holders MUST apply for a corrected license or permit in person at any full service MVA office. For name changes, customer are required to submit acceptable documentation to substantiate the change.
Note: Customers must have changed their name with the Social Security Administration (SSA) prior to coming to the MVA, The corrected license or ID card will not be issued if the new desired name change does not match the SSA records.
If the name is different from the name on your birth certificate, then you are required to provide the MVA with an original or certified copy (from the issuing agency) of the document or documents that changed your name i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, court ordered name change, etc. However, a cross-reference record must be created with the name on your birth certificate. Note: It may take the SSA 48 hours or more to update their records before the MVA can electronically verify the name change.
A valid/current Medical Examiner's Certificate (DOT Card) (and Intrastate waiver/Interstate exemption, if required) MUST be provided for all MVA Commercial Driver's License transactions. See CDL Medical/Physical Requirements for more information.
To obtain a corrected license, permit or identification card, drivers must report in person to any of our MVA office locations. Applicants under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian to co-sign the application.
If you just need a duplicate product to replace one that was lost, stolen or mutilated, see Obtaining a Duplicate License, Permit, or Identification (ID) Card.
If you need to change or correct information on a vehicle-related product (title, registration card, etc.) see Changing or Correcting Customer Name and Address or Correcting Vehicle Related Information. Note, however, that new address information ONLY received through this process will also be automatically recorded in your vehicle records.
Under what circumstances can I report changed or incorrect information without going to an MVA office?
You may submit your request to change an address ONLY on a noncommercial license, noncommercial learner’s or moped permit or ID card by mail, telephone or online.
- Phone – Call the Customer Service Center (CSC) who then will request the change of address for you. Like the mail process, a Correction Attachment Card will be prepared and mailed to your new address. You must carry the card with the original license, permit or ID Card.
- Online – Access the MVA’s website, and then select the Online Service titled “Change of Address”. Again, a Correction Attachment Card will be prepared and mailed to your new address. Notice of your address change will also be sent to your previous address. You must carry the card with the original license, permit or ID Card.
When must I report changed/corrected information in person?
Name changes must now be done in person at any MVA office.
For any changes/corrections to a commercial learner’s permit or license (CDL) OR for changes/corrections, other than address, to a noncommercial license, noncommercial permit or ID card, you must submit your request in person at any MVA office. CDL license and permit holders must visit a full service MVA office to obtain a corrected license or permit. Unless you are ONLY requesting changes to your height/weight or organ donor status, you will need to bring with you:
- Product that needs to be changed or corrected.
- Proofs of Identity used to obtain the original product
- Proof of your current name if you are requesting a name change:
- Marriage Certificate
- Divorce Decree
- Court Order
- Social Security Card and birth certificate in cases of “Common Law” name change
- If you are less than 18 years old, your parent or legal guardian must accompany you and sign the application.
- A valid/current Medical Examiner's Certificate (DOT Card) (and Intrastate waiver/Interstate exemption, if required) MUST be provided for all MVA Commercial Driver's License transactions. See CDL Medical/Physical Requirements for more information.
- The MVA will typically ONLY accept a Marriage Certificate or a Certificate of Marriage that has been certified and issued by that jurisdictions proper government authority, such as their Department of Vital Records/Statistics or their local or state court system.
- Effective January 1, 2013, the State of Maryland passed a law that authorized the issuance of a marriage license to same-sex couples, to allow their marriage ceremonies to begin on the effective date of January 1, 2013. The license does not validate the marriage, therefore once the marriage ceremony has taken place, a certified copy of the marriage certificate must be obtained to present to the MVA if a name change is requested.
o The MVA also recognizes a Same-Sex marriage (civil union) that was performed in another jurisdiction that has passed and enacted similar legislation.
How do I report changes in my height/weight or organ donor status?
You are only required to report height changes of 2 inches or more and weight changes of 20 pounds or more. To report these changes or to change your organ donor status, you must go in person to any MVA office. Remember to bring the product that you wish to change.
- There is a fee for a new (i.e., “corrected”) product that is issued because of changed or incorrect information; the only exceptions are the removal of vision restriction and a change in organ donor status for which there is no fee charged.
- There is no fee for the Correction Attachment Card. (Change of Address ONLY)
Driver Services Division
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
MVA Customer Service Center:
Veteran Status Code:
Effective January 1, 2013 if you are able to present certain United States Military Veteran documentation (original or certified copy issued by the appropriate department/agency) certifying your veteran status you may apply to add a “W” restriction code indicating that you are a U.S. Veteran onto your Maryland driver’s license or identification card (ID card). You can add this “W” restriction code when you are processed for a license or ID card Renewal, Correction or New product.
- In choosing to add this code to the driver’s license or ID card, you consent to being contacted by the appropriate Executive Branch agencies regarding your eligibility for State or Federal Veteran’s benefits.
- “Veteran” means an individual who served on active duty in the armed forces of the United States, other than for training, and was discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable.
- If you do not have one of the below acceptable proof of veteran status documents indicating a discharge or release under conditions other than dishonorable, you will need to contact the Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs (MDVA) Service Office to obtain documentation verifying your status as a veteran. You may call 1-800-446-4926 or visit the MDVA website at http://www.mdva.state.md.us/about/serviceProgram.html for information and assistance.
The acceptable proof of veteran status documents are:
- DD-214 Military Discharge Certificate, or;
- Honorable Discharge Certificate, or;
- Letter from U.S. Military Center in St. Louis, Missouri, or;
- Letter from the Maryland Veterans Administration Service Program
The acceptable documents must show the Veteran status as:
- Honorable, or;
- General, or;
- General Under Honorable Conditions, or;
- Discharged or Released under conditions other than Dishonorable
Fee: There is a fee if the applicant chooses to add or remove this designation onto their license or ID card as a correction.