You may be required to obtain a class A or a class B non-commercial license to operate a motor home or RV, depending on the weight of the vehicle plus any other vehicles in tow. See chart below:
|Gross Vehicle Weight of Motor Home or RV||License Class Required|
|Less than 26,001 lbs.||Class C (Non-commercial or Commercial)|
|26,001 lbs. or more||Class B or A (Non-commercial or Commercial)|
|Combined vehicle weight of 26,001 lbs.. or more, with towing unit of 10,001 lbs. or more||Class A (Non-commercial or Commercial)|
If you are required to obtain a class A or B noncommercial license, you have the option of either applying for an unrestricted license (you could test in a motor home or RV and complete the full pretrip, skills and road tests) that would enable you to operate other noncommercial class A or B vehicles or you can apply for a restricted license. The restricted license only authorizes you to operate a motor home or RV. The restricted license is issued once you pass the modified pretrip, skills and road tests in your motor home or RV. If you would like to be able to drive other types of class A or B noncommercial vehicles (fire apparatus and farm vehicles) you would need to obtain another learner's permit and retest in the class A or B vehicle.
The process of reclassifying a non-commercial license to a higher class is different than the process of upgrading a commercial driver's license (CDL). Note that if the motor home or RV weighs 26,000 pounds or less, your class C license is sufficient, if the towing unit is 10,000 lbs or less and the combined vehicle weight is less than 26,001 lbs.
First, you will need to obtain a Type II Learner's Permit and hold it for at least 14 days. See Obtaining a Non-commercial Learner's Permit for details.
Second, schedule a skills test using your motor home or RV. You may visit or call the branch office (any full-service office except Essex, White Oak, Westminster, Baltimore City and Beltsville) where you want to take the skills test. For more details, see Reclassifying a Maryland License for a License of a Different Class .
First, you will need to obtain a commercial learner's permit and hold it for at least 14 days. See Obtaining a Commercial Learner's Permit for details.
Second, schedule a skills test using your motor home or RV. You may visit or call the branch office (any full-service office except Essex, White Oak, Westminster, Baltimore City and Beltsville) where you want to take the skills test. For more details, see Reclassifying a Maryland License for a License of a Different Class.
Click here for more recreational vehicle information.
There is a fee for both a noncommercial and a commercial learner's permit which covers the cost of both the permit and the license (noncommercial or CDL).
- The MVA will typically ONLY accept a Marriage Certificate or a Certificate of Marriage that has been certified and issued by that jurisdictions proper government authority, such as their Department of Vital Records/Statistics or their local or state court system.
- Effective January 1, 2013, the State of Maryland passed a law that authorized the issuance of a marriage license to same-sex couples, to allow their marriage ceremonies to begin on the effective date of January 1, 2013. The license does not validate the marriage, therefore once the marriage ceremony has taken place, a certified copy of the marriage certificate must be obtained to present to the MVA if a name change is requested.
o The MVA also recognizes a Same-Sex marriage (civil union) that was performed in another jurisdiction that has passed and enacted similar legislation.
- Veteran Status Code: Effective January 1, 2013 if you are able to present certain United States Military Veteran documentation (original or certified copy issued by the appropriate department/agency) certifying your veteran status you may apply to add a “W” restriction code indicating that you are a U.S. Veteran onto your Maryland driver’s license or identification card (ID card). You can add this “W” restriction code when you are processed for a license or ID card Renewal, Correction or New product.
- In choosing to add this code to the driver’s license or ID card, you consent to being contacted by the appropriate Executive Branch agencies regarding your eligibility for State or Federal Veteran’s benefits.
- “Veteran” means an individual who served on active duty in the armed forces of the United States, other than for training, and was discharged or released under conditions other than dishonorable.
- If you do not have one of the below acceptable proof of veteran status documents indicating a discharge or release under conditions other than dishonorable, you will need to contact the Maryland Department of Veterans Affairs (MDVA) Service Office to obtain documentation verifying your status as a veteran. You may call 1-800-446-4926 or visit the MDVA website at http://www.mdva.state.md.us/about/serviceProgram.html for information and assistance.
The acceptable proof of veteran status documents are:
- DD-214 Military Discharge Certificate, or;
- Honorable Discharge Certificate, or;
- Letter from U.S. Military Center in St. Louis, Missouri, or;
- Letter from the Maryland Veterans Administration Service Program
The acceptable documents must show the Veteran status as:
- Honorable, or;
- General, or;
- General Under Honorable Conditions, or;
- Discharged or Released under conditions other than Dishonorable
Driver Services Division
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
For telephone questions:
MVA Customer Service Center: