VEIP - Vehicle Not Passing
The Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program (VEIP) describes the steps you need to take when your vehicle does not pass the VEIP tests.
There are many reasons why your vehicle may have not passed the test(s). The most common are:
- Hydrocarbon (HC) failure
- Carbon monoxide (CO) failure
- Sample dilution failure
- On-board diagnostic (OBD) failure
- Emission control equipment was removed or altered
- Gas cap failure
What do I need to do now?
You should have your vehicle repaired and re-tested as soon as possible. Be sure to show the person repairing your vehicle your Vehicle Emissions Inspection Certificate (VEIC) and diagnostic report. If your vehicle is under warranty, you may want to have the dealer perform the needed repairs. Otherwise, you can use any mechanic, or you may do the repairs yourself. Note that certain repair facilities are certified to perform emissions work and offer approved emissions analyzers, On-Board Diagnostic (OBD) scan tools and trained personnel.
Note: OBD re-test - Drive vehicle in a normal manner for one (1) week before re-test to allow enough time for monitors to reset themselves.
After your vehicle is repaired you can have it re-tested at any of the 18 VEIP stations located throughout Maryland. The first re-test of your vehicle is free.
Do I need to have my vehicle re-tested if it did not pass the initial VEIP emissions test?
You must have your vehicle re-tested until it passes the required VEIP tests or until you receive a repair waiver. To be eligible for the waiver you must have made emissions-related repairs to your vehicle totaling at least $450.00. The cost of an emissions-related repair can be counted if it was made:
- during the 30 days before the initial VEIP test; or,
- on the day of the initial VEIP test; or,
- during the period following the initial VEIP test and prior to the last failed test.
To apply for the repair waiver, you also must complete and submit to the VEIP station the repair waiver request (on the reverse side of the vehicle emissions inspection certificate) and the original invoices, receipts and/or repair orders for the emissions-related repairs. A Station Representative will visually inspect your vehicle to verify that all emissions equipment is present and that the repairs you paid for were completed.
Federal and state laws may not allow the costs of repairs to the exhaust system, beyond the catalytic converter, to count toward the expenditure requirement for a repair waiver. Repair waivers are not issued if any emission control devices are disconnected or removed.
If you have not spent at least $450.00 on repairs at the time of re-testing, your vehicle will need to be repaired again and undergo another test. You will be charged for each additional re-test, after the first re-test which is free.
- The first re-test of a vehicle’s emissions (following repairs) is free if done by the “valid through” date on the VEIC.
- The fee for each additional re-test of a vehicle’s emissions is the same as the original VEIP test fee.
- A late fee is assessed after the “valid through” date has passed.
- After the initial late fee is assessed, an additional late fee is charged for every four-week period (28 days) that the vehicle continues to be late for re-testing.
Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration
6601 Ritchie Highway, NE
Glen Burnie, MD 21062
For telephone questions:
Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program:
MVA Customer Service Center:
Reasons Why Vehicle Did Not Pass
And Possible Causes