How to Apply for a Maryland:
Follow Directions Carefully, and Your Application Will Be Easy and Convenient!
Effective October 1, 2012, the Maryland MVA will begin the conversion of Non-commercial driver’s licenses and identification (ID) cards to an 8-year period of validity. ID’s for individuals 18 years of age and older will be valid for a period of up to 8 years; ID’s for those under the age of 18 will be valid for up to 5 years.
The conversion to an 8-year driver’s license and identification card will be implemented over the next few years. During this phase-in period, individuals renewing their noncommercial driver’s license or identification card will receive a product with a validity period of a maximum of 5 to 8 years. Because the expiration date of the license or identification card is determined by a computer generated selection process, the fee required to renew will vary. This fee is prorated (for each year the product is valid) based on the period of validity of the license or identification card which may be for a maximum of 5-8 years.
Note: Commercial driver’s licenses will continue to be valid for a maximum of 5-years.
- Individuals with a limited term ID or driver’s license will continue to be issued a product with a period of validity equal to their duration of lawful status in the United States and will NOT be able to renew using the mail, MVA Kiosk, or the web.
- For more information regarding Driver Licensing Legislation, please view http://www.mva.maryland.gov/2012-legislation.htm#driver-bills.
- Sources of proof for all transactions requiring proof of age/identity, lawful presence, verifiable social security number or proof of ineligibility, and Maryland residence are listed. All applicants are required to submit sources of proof.
- Your Maryland Identification Card will be mailed to your Maryland address of record.
- For the safety of all drivers, the MVA’s Medical Advisory Board (MAB) must consider your medical status as part of your license request. All drivers are required to report their medical condition, listed below, to the MVA.
Please be assured that all medical information is kept confidential and is only reviewed by the MVA’s MAB physician.
- Vision tests may be taken at any MVA Office. You may also bring in a Vision Certification Form, (DL-043) completed by your physician (optometry or ophthalmology) within the last year.
- Please be advised that if you have monovision you will be unable to successfully pass the vision screening at the MVA. It is highly recommended that you visit your ophthalmologist/optometrist to complete this form. Please bring the completed form with you to the MVA.
- The U.S. Patriot Act of 2001 requires all commercial driver license holders with a HAZMAT endorsement to undergo a criminal background check to include a fingerprint process.
- All licensing applications are checked with the National Driver Registry. If your license is suspended, revoked, canceled or refused in this or any other state, you are not eligible for a Maryland driver's license.
- If you're using a name other than your birth name, you must bring the document that initiated the change of name, such as a Marriage Certificate, Divorce Decree or Court Name Change Order. Please see the list of acceptable sources of proof.
- A moped permit has the same identification requirements as a Driver's License.