New to Maryland Driver Licensing Information
Effective January 1, 2014, the MVA will implement a new process for immigrants, presenting foreign documentation without valid accompanying United States Citizenship and Immigration Services documentation, to obtain a driver’s license, learner’s permit, moped permit or identification card (DL/ID).
Customers who are interested in obtaining one of these DL/IDs are advised to take the following steps in preparation for the new law:
- Apply for an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number through the Internal Revenue Service, http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/General-ITIN-Information;
- File Maryland Income Taxes for the preceding 2 years and obtain a certification letter that is needed to make an appointment and present to the MVA. Click here for more information;
- Apply for and obtain identity documents such as a valid, current foreign passport;
- Obtain two residency documents such as copies of a residential lease, utility bill, or bank statement; and
- Study the Maryland Driver’s Manual and take the Online Driver Test Tutorial to prepare for the knowledge test.
Customers presenting foreign documentation without valid accompanying United States Citizenship and Immigration Services documentation MUST schedule an appointment online to apply for a Federally Non-Compliant DL / ID.
Before you make an appointment, you must have contacted the Comptroller’s Office of Maryland to obtain proof of Maryland income tax filings. You may obtain a certification letter by applying online here or by making an appointment to visit one of the Comptroller’s branch offices.
You may visit the Online Document Guide to start the process for scheduling an appointment.
Also effective January 1, 2014, all Identification cards, new Type 1 GLS Learner’s permits, and any Federally Non-Compliant DL/IDs will be mailed to your Maryland residence address on file.
Please refer to Sources of Proof for details on the required identity and residency documentation and instructions on how to obtain a DL/ID under this new law.
If you are a new resident of Maryland and you hold a noncommercial driver's license, you have 60 days to obtain a Maryland Driver's License. If you hold a commercial driver's license (CDL), you must transfer your CDL within 30 days. When applying, please bring:
Please refer to Sources of Proof for required identity and residency documentation and instructions.
- New Maryland residents must obtain a Maryland Driver’s License within 60 days.
- You must pass a vision test.
- An Out-of-State license must be a valid license or a license expired for less than one year. The license cannot be suspended.
- If licensed for less than 18 months, you will be issued a Maryland Provisional License.
- If you are exchanging an Out-of-State license that has been expired for one (1) year or more, you are required to take the knowledge and skills tests in addition to the vision test.
- Tests may be waived for active duty military and their dependants if the issuing State grants military extensions.
- You can contact the State in which your last license was issued to find out if a military extension is granted before visiting the MVA.
- There is no automatic extension to all active duty military. Each State has their own procedures and Maryland will review the procedures of the State in which the license was issued before determining whether the transfer can be done without testing.
- A valid U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) physical card or federal/MVA waiver (if applying for a Commercial Driver's License).
- A hazardous material (HAZMAT) test is required to keep your HAZMAT endorsement (if applying for a Commercial Driver's License).
- Out-of-State learner's permits cannot be exchanged for a Maryland Learner's Permit or License.