- What do I need to know about the process for non-compliant driver's licenses?
- What do I need to do to make an appointment?
- What is the difference between a federally compliant and federally non-compliant driver’s license or identification card?
- What happens to people who do not have a federally compliant driver’s licenses or identification cards?
- What do I need to get a learner’s permit?
- What is needed to get an identification card?
- As a new resident of Maryland, how long do I have to obtain a Maryland driver's license?
Individuals who present foreign documentation without valid accompanying United States Citizenship and Immigration Services documentation must schedule an appointment online to apply for a federally non-compliant driver's license. Before you make an appointment, however, please follow these steps:
- Apply for an individual taxpayer identification number through the Internal Revenue Service.
- File Maryland income taxes for the 2 years before you seek a driver's license and obtain a certification letter in order to make an appointment with the MVA. Click here for more information.
- Apply for and obtain identity documents such as a valid, current foreign passport. Please refer to the sources of proof on the required documentation you will need to apply for a Maryland driver's license.
- Obtain two residency documents such as copies of a residential lease, utility bill, or bank statement.
- Study the Maryland Driver’s Manual and take the online driver test tutorial to prepare for the knowledge test.
- Please visit the MVA Online Document Guide to start the process of scheduling your appointment with the MVA.
- Your federally non-compliant driver's license will be mailed to your Maryland residence.
Standard fees for a driver's license.
Any person offering to assist you in obtaining your driver’s license in exchange for money does not work for the MVA. Use extreme caution in working with any third party. Maryland Law (Transportation Article §12-117) prohibits the solicitation for money at state offices for assistance and provides for a fine of up to $500.
If you are seeking a driver’s license and have a foreign license that is not suspended or revoked, please present the license and complete the 3-hour alcohol and drug education program before taking your driving skills test.
If you are seeking a driver’s license and do not have a foreign license, you will need to obtain a learner’s permit, complete the Maryland Driver Education Program and meet other requirements before taking your driving skills test.
What do I need to do to make an appointment?
Before you make an appointment, you must have contacted the Comptroller’s Office of Maryland to obtain proof that you have filed Maryland income taxes. You may obtain a certification letter by applying online here or by making an appointment to visit one of the comptroller’s branch offices.
After receiving the letter from the comptroller’s office, please visit the MVA Online Document Guide to start the process for scheduling an appointment with the MVA.
What is the difference between a federally compliant and federally non-compliant driver's license or identification card?
US citizens, immigrants with permanent residence and non-immigrants with valid US Citizenship and Immigration Services documentation are able to prove lawful status in the US and are eligible for a federally compliant driver's license or identification card. Immigrants who do not have valid US Citizenship and Immigration documentation are eligible to apply for a non-compliant driver's license or identification card.
Current Maryland driver's license or identification card holders who do not have a verified US Social Security number, and have maintained a valid license or ID card that has not expired for more than one year, are eligible to renew, but their new license or ID card will be federally non-compliant.
- They may find it harder to access commercial aircraft flights and enter federal buildings.
- They may be required to produce additional identity documents.
- They will not be able to use the non-compliant driver's license or identification card to purchase fire arms.
What do I need to get a learner's permit?
Please go to the MVA's Rookie Driver page for information on how to obtain a learner's permit.
Please click here for information on Maryland identification cards.
As a new resident of Maryland, how long do I have to obtain a Maryland driver's license?
You must obtain a driver's license within 60 days after becoming a Maryland resident if you hold a non-commercial license. You have 30 days if you hold a commercial driver's license. Please refer to sources of proof for the required documentation and instructions. You will need to visit a full service MVA office. If you are under eighteen (18) years of age, you must also have a parent/guardian accompany you and co-sign your application. If you have a valid out-of-state (or expired for less than one year) license, you must also pass a vision test/screening and your license cannot be suspended, cancelled, disqualified or refused.