Maryland's Graduated Licensing System
A learner's permit allows a new driver to begin the learning process of operating a motor vehicle.
- Minimum age for applicants is 15 years and 9 months.
- If under 16, you must provide a completed Verification of Identity and/or School Attendance, Form (DL-300) to an MVA official during the learner's permit application process. Note: The DL-300 must be presented to the MVA in a sealed, unopened envelope provided by the applicant's school or county home school coordinator, if home schooled.
- A parent or guardian must co-sign the learner's permit application if the applicant is under 18.
- All applicants are required to submit sources of proof of age and identity, lawful status, social security number or proof of ineligibility, and Maryland residence.
- IMPORTANT NOTE: Effective February 1, 2014, only individuals testing for the first time will be permitted to take the driver knowledge test on a Saturday. Individuals who wish to re-take the driver’s knowledge test must do so Monday through Friday.
- While driving, learner's permit holders must be accompanied by a qualified supervising driver who is 21 years or older, and has held a license for a minimum of 3 years. The person must be seated beside the new driver at all times, with no other front seat occupants.
- A qualified supervising driver (parent, guardian, or mentor) must complete a Practice Skills Log for the learner's permit holder, which is issued by the MVA along with every learner's permit.
- Applicants must hold a valid learner's permit prior to the behind-the-wheel driver education training and driving on Maryland highways.
- Learner's permit holders under 18 are prohibited from using a wireless communication device (including with a blue tooth or hands free equipment) while operating a motor vehicle, except to make an emergency 911 call. Violations may result in a suspension of your driving privilege. For more information on this law.
- Learner's permit holders under the age of 25 must:
- Hold the learner's permit for a minimum of nine (9) months,
- Maintain a conviction-free driving record during this time period, and
- Complete a standardized Maryland MVA approved driver education course before becoming eligible for a provisional license.
- New drivers (GLS) must complete a Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration approved Driver's Education Course consisting of:
- A minimum of 30-hours classroom instruction and 6-hours behind the wheel instruction training.
- The Maryland driving school will electronically submit verification of completion to the MVA.
New drivers must also present the completed Practice Skills log (a minimum of at least 60 hours of supervised behind the wheel driving) completed certification page along and their unexpired Maryland learner's instructional permit at the time of their driving skills test appointment.
- Effective October 1, 2012 an individual at least 25 years old who holds a (Graduated Licensing System - GLS) learner’s permit and has not been convicted of, or granted Probation Before Judgment (PBJ) for a moving violation, is eligible to take a skills driving test after holding this permit for a minimum of 45 days if they:
- Have completed a Maryland MVA approved standardized driver education program consisting of at least 30 hours of classroom instruction and at least 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction training; AND
- Have completed a Practice Skills log (a minimum of at least 14 hours of supervised behind the wheel driving) and certification page.
- If the applicant has been convicted of or given a PBJ for a moving violation, they are required to hold the permit for a minimum of 9 months following the most recent date the individual was convicted of, or granted a PBJ for a moving violation, and meet the rest of the GLS requirements listed in the paragraph above before they are eligible to take a skills driving test.
- If an applicant is under 25 years old when they obtain their first GLS learner’s permit and then turns 25 afterwards, the MVA will permit the applicant to take a skills driving test if they have held the permit at least 45 days (the 45 days may include the days the applicant held the permit before they turned 25), they have completed at least 14 hours of supervised driving as described in the paragraph above as well as the required driver’s education program and have an eligible supervising driver complete a Practice Skills Log and certification page .
- If the applicant has been convicted of or given a PBJ for a moving violation, they are required to hold the permit for a minimum of 9 months following the most recent date the individual was convicted of, or granted a PBJ for a moving violation, and meet the rest of the GLS requirements in the note above before they are eligible to take a skills driving test. Out-of-State Driver’s Education certificates are not typically accepted by the MVA. Currently, the MVA has only approved certain specific certificates issues by the Delaware Board of Education, that physically state that the certificate has been Approved by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. No other out-of-state certificates are currently accepted.
Parents Please Note
- If a new driver under 18 is cited for a moving violation, the MVA will notify the cosigner.
- Drivers under 18 may have their license suspended if the parent, guardian, or cosigner withdraw their consent. Contact the MVA for details.
Things to Remember
- To obtain a learner's permit, provisional license or driver's license, visit any of our full-service offices in Maryland.
- Your driver's skills test for a provisional license must be scheduled in advance. Go to mvascheduling.mdot.state.md.us to schedule an appointment.
- The State of Maryland requires all registered owners to carry liability insurance, uninsured motorist, and Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage.
Note: If your learner's permit expires or you are not able to complete/pass the required skills tests before it expires, you will be required to reapply for a new permit, pass the Vision and Knowledge tests and pay the required fees. If you are a minor you will need to have your parent/guardian co-sign the application.
Home School Coordinators