Individuals may be eligible for an Insurance Debt Reduction Program set to begin in May 15, 2017. Under the provisions of this program, 80 percent of your outstanding penalty fees may be waived if you satisfy the eligibility and participation requirements outlined below.
To qualify for the Debt Reduction Program a person must:
- Be a Maryland resident;
- Either own a vehicle that is not currently insured or purchase a vehicle after enrolling in the program;
- Have an uninsured motorist penalty that was delinquent before January 1, 2014; and
- Not have a judgement issued by the Department of Budget and Management, Central Collection Unit (CCU).
If the Maryland Department of Transportation’s Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) determines that you may be a candidate for this program, you will be notified by email and a letter will be mailed to your residential address. To make sure the MVA has your email address, click here.
If you qualify, you must take the following actions to participate in the program between the enrollment dates of May 15, 2017 and August 15, 2017:
- Visit a CCU office to make your first payment and sign a Customer Agreement form;
- Pay 20 percent of your penalties, including the 17 percent CCU collection fee, in full or in monthly installments not exceeding six months; and
- Maintain insurance on your vehicle(s) for a minimum of six months or up to one year if the penalties waived exceed $3,000.
- Failure to maintain insurance on your vehicle(s) or honor any payment agreement made with CCU will result in you paying the full original balance, less any payment received. Any flags removed upon entry into the program will also be reinstated.
To see a listing of authorized insurance companies in Maryland, click here.